Ontario. Municipal Offices

Record #: BAR2716
Last Modified: 12 Jul 2023
Last Full Update: 23 Aug 2021


Description (Service)

There are 444 municipalities in Ontario. Municipalities have a broad range of powers and responsibilities under the Municipal Act, 2001, the City of Toronto Act, 2006 (for the City of Toronto) and over 100 provincial acts. There are three types of Ontario municipalities, depending on whether they operate within a single-tier or two-tier government structure. Upper-tier and lower-tier municipalities in a two-tier structure Two-tier structures are formed by:

  • an upper-tier municipality (such as the Regional Municipality of York or the County of Huron)
  • two or more lower-tier municipalities (such as the City of Richmond Hill or the Town of Goderich)

Single-tier municipalities A single-tier municipality (such as the City of Toronto, the City of Stratford or the County of Brant) is not part of an upper-tier municipality. See website for a list of all Ontario municipalities

Service Details



Areas Served Ontario
Languages English