Northumberland Eats

Description
Description (Service) The Northumberland Eats Voucher Pilot Program is a collaboration between Northumberland County and the United Way. Northumberland Eats is designed to provide food support to vulnerable individuals or families through this COVID pandemic while focusing on Northumberland County's mandate to invest in local businesses.
  • When a participating social service organization recognizes a need for an individual or family to obtain a meal, that organization may issue vouchers to the individual or family.  
  • Vouchers are available in $5 and $10 denominations.  
  • The individual or family may use the vouchers at participating local businesses for food and/or beverages.  
  • The vouchers have no cash value and may not be used to obtain alcohol or lotto.  
  • The vouchers are valid up to and including March 31, 2021. 
  • To access vouchers individuals are encouraged to reach out to any community agencies they are already connected to including food banks, housing and shelter, mental health and child care centres. These agencies are knowledgeable about the program and can provide additional food support. 
Participating organizations include:
  • YMCA: Cobourg,  905-372-4318
  • Northumberland Hills Hospital- ER/Mental Health: Cobourg, Chantal Lelievre, 905-376-7152, clelievre@nhh.ca 
  • Fourcast: Cobourg, Contact: Victoria Soares, 905-373-6885, vsoares@fourcast.ca 
  • Food 4 All: Various, Contact: Rob O'Neil, oneilr@northumberlandcounty.ca 
  • Greenwood: Port Hope, Contact: David Sheffield, dsheffield@gmail.com 
  • Salvation Army: Port Hope, Contact: Lisa Graham, 289-251-5758, lisa.graham@salvationarmy.ca 
  • Help Centre: Cobourg, Contact: Karin Cummings , karin.thehelpcentre@live.ca 
  • Northumberland Family Health Team: Cobourg, Contact: Adrian Bell-Smith, 289-252-2139, abell-smith@nfht.ca 
  • Cobourg Library: Contact: Kate, 905-372-9271 ext 6260  
  • Port Hope Library: Contact: Margaret, 905-885-4712 
  • Cobourg Police: Contact: Jeff Sheils, 905-372-6821 x2218, jeff.sheils@cobourgpolice.com 
  • OPP: Cobourg, Contact: Caley O'Neill, 705-826-2421, caley.o'neill@opp.ca 
  • Port Hope Police: Contact: Gerry Marino, gmarino@phps.on.ca 
  • Highland Shores Children's Aid Society: Cobourg/various, Contact: Erin Besso, erin.besso@highlandshorescas.com 
  • Early Years and Childcare Centres: various, Contact: Christine Mumford, mumfordc@northumberlandcounty.ca 
  • Warming Rooms (Day and Night): various, Contact: David Sheffield, dsheffield@gmail.com 
  • Community Care - through transportation program: various, Contact: Trish Baird/Leiann Peart, t.baird@commcare.ca / l.peart@commcare.ca 
  • Cornerstone: Cobourg. 905-372-1545  
  • Rebound: Cobourg, Contact: Carol Beauchamp, 905-372-0007  
  • Transition House: Cobourg, Contact: Jennifer Green, 905-375-0176, jgreen@thshelter.ca 
  • Next Steps: Cobourg, Contact: Jennifer Green, 905-375-0176, jgreen@thshelter.ca 
  • Port Hope Community Health Centre: Port Hope, Contact: Doug Dixon, 905-885-2626, ddixon@porthopechc.ca 
  • Northumberland County Community and Social Services: Cobourg, Contact: Amy de Blois, debloisa@northumberlandcounty.ca 
  • EMS: Cobourg, Contact: Shawn Silvestri, silvestris@northumberlandcounty.ca 
  • Social Housing: Cobourg, Contact: Rebecca Carman, carmanr@northumberlandcounty.ca 
  • Local Food for Local Good 
  • Early Years/Child Care Centres
  • Beehive Daycare 
  • Brighton Children's Centre 
  • Cobourg Daycare 
  • Sunshine Daycare 
  • Ganaraska Child Care Centre 
  • Watch Me Grow 
  • Northumberland County Courts 
  • Campbellford ER/MH
Service Details
Hours Vary by participating local agency
Dates Dec 21, 2020-Mar 31, 2021
Eligibility Those in need
Application Contact any community agency you are already connected to or any of the organizations listed above.
Languages English
Address and Location
Site Location Locations vary. See list in description.
Located In Community Northumberland County
Address & Map
62 Swayne St
Cobourg, ON
Canada K9A 1K5
Intersection Division St and Swayne St
Contact Information
Office Phone Office: 905-372-6955
Website www.mynuw.org/northumberland-eats
Primary Contact Maggie Darling, Manager, Communication & Engagement; Email: northumberlandeats@nuw.unitedway.ca
Primary Executive Maggie Darling, Manager, Communication & Engagement; Email: northumberlandeats@nuw.unitedway.ca
Mailing Address 62 Swayne St 
Cobourg, ON 
Canada K9A 1K5

Agency Overview