Service: Hutchison House Museum
|Record #: PET0177||Last Modified: 16 Jul 2020||Last Full Update: 16 Jul 2020|
|Description (Service)||COVID19 Advance registration required to visit museum * Scottish Teas Wed, Thu, Sat until Labour Day * Bookshop phone orders only with curbside pick up.
A living museum owned and operated by the Peterborough Historical Society.
* Hutchison House was built in 1836-1837
* Visitors can tour the house and see the study of Dr. Hutchison with medical instruments, books and furnishings; the Sir Sandford Fleming room with survey equipment; Sir Fleming's original map of Peterborough and other memorabilia; Victorian parlour; the keeping room with cooking in the open hearth; period gardens planted in the style of the 1860s; and demonstration herb and flower cutting gardens. Costumed guides are on duty afternoons throughout the summer months.
* Workshops for children and adults.
* School and group programmes can be arranged as well as private parties, showers, weddings and celebrations
* Scottish Teas are served Tue-Sun afternoons Jul and Aug
|Hours||COVID19 Reduced hours. Call for information
Office & Bookshop: Jun-Sep Tue-Fri 9 am-5 pm * Oct-May Mon–Fri 9 am-5 pm
Public Tours: Jun-Sep Tue-Sun 1 pm-4:30 pm * Oct-May Mon-Fri 9 am-5 pm
* Summer hours begin mid-June annually.
|Application||No application needed|
|Fees||Service - call for information on hosting events rates ; Admission - call for information or visit website|
|Address and Location|
|Located In Community||Peterborough|
|Address & Map||
270 Brock St
Peterborough, ON K9H 2P9
|Intersection||Brock St & Bethune St|
|Physical Access||Fully Accessible - ground floor & terrace only - parking accessible, entrance accessible, washroom accessible ; * Video tour of the house for those not able to climb stairs|
|Toll Free Phone||1-866-743-9710|
|Primary Contact||Erin Panepinto, Administrator / Curator|